A photologue of the many Starbucks Cafes we visit around the world.

We’re sitting here at the Surbiton Starbucks in South London, a cafe I logged almost a year ago, on 15 December 2010: https://starbuckproject.wordpress.com/2010/12/25/surbiton-high-street-kingston-upon-thames-england/ . Whenever we come to London, we inevitably go back to our normal haunts: the Starbucks on the Surbiton High Street, and the Starbucks on the Sutton High Street. And since I generally only post when we go to a new cafe, and even then sporadically thanks to hectic-crazy-dancer-lifestyle, one may get an uneven picture as to our patronage of Starbucks. But there are definite advantages to going back to the same cafe. Like, for instance, the baristas start to get to know us. Even in England.

At the Sutton Starbucks, for instance, there is one barista in particular who recognizes us from a long time ago. A couple of trips back, maybe in January, we came in during a slow spell, and we chatted for a bit about the difference between American and British cafes. Like, for instance, that fact that British Starbucks give you ALL upgrades on your drinks for free. That means free shots and free syrup. So our Venti Quod Vanilla Latte is the same price as a Venti Latte when we pay for it with our card. How awesome is that?? I saw him yesterday, too, and he asked what we do. After all, he sees me a lot for about two or three weeks, then not at all for two or three months, then again for another two or three weeks, and etc etc. So I explained to him what we do for a living, which naturally inspired quite a bit of interest since Professional Ballroom Dance is, while rather glamorous, not the most common profession in the world. We didn’t have much time to talk, however; as it turns out, Starbucks is bustling on a Sunday morning!

And just now, we walked into the Surbiton High Street and the barista saw me in line and called out, “Venti Quod Vanilla Latte for you?” I gave him a big smile. On a day like today, when Simeon and I are not getting along and I’m coming down with a cold, my eyes burn and my sinuses are pounding AFTER medicine, and I’m not dancing particularly well (surprise??); it’s so nice when someone remembers my drink. That extra little attention goes a long way. And, of course, while he was making my latte he asked what we were doing over here, and I explained to him that we were professional dancers, which once again inspires a fair amount of interest. But really, I do love it when I get to know the baristas. Like getting to know servers at restaurants or bartenders at bars. It just makes the entire experience more enjoyable.

On another note, Starbucks in Britain offers a Creme Brulee Macchiato. Simeon and I ordered it the other day, and I’d have to admit, I didn’t fancy it too much. (Look at me, even starting to write like a Brit! The slang gets into me when we’re over here.) In the States Starbucks has the Pumpkin Spice Latte as an Autumn specialty, and I much prefer that to the Creme Brulee Macchiato. There’s something in the Creme Brulee syrup that makes the drink taste almost alcoholic, which is fine if I’m drinking a martini, or a Calypso Coffee after dinner, but not for my morning cup o’ joe. Personally, the Pumpkin Spice is a win for me, while the Creme Brulee is a definite fail. But maybe that’s just the American talking in me!

Leave a comment